Call for Nominations

Five seats will arise on the National Digital Forum Board for 2019/2020. Two current Board Members are seeking re-election, and two seats are vacant. Nominations from Institution Members are now sought.

Individual Members may be nominated to stand for the board, with nominations being made by Institutional Members. Institutional Members should check with potential nominees that they are an Individual Member. If not, they can join here.

Click here for more information about the board and its processes is available.

As an Incorporated Society, the NDF Board and its officers must abide by the Charities Act 2005, included ensuring Officers (Board members) are eligible. To check eligibility status see the Charities Services website.

Terms of Appointment

Terms of appointment are for two years. Please note: resources to attend Board meetings for any successful candidate who is elected are the responsibility of the member’s institution, as an in-kind contribution to the running of the NDF. Video conference facilities are used for meetings wherever practicable. Please be familiar with the NDF Board Member responsibilities.

Criteria for Appointment

Board members shall be elected by the individual members to represent a breadth of skills, knowledge and experience across sectors.

The Board is currently comprised of the following individuals, who are permanent members or whose terms do not expire this year:

  • Adrian Kingston, Chair. Representative of Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa, Permanent Member

  • Fiona Fieldsend, Representative of National Library, Permanent Member

  • Lisa Austin, Representative of Archives New Zealand, Permanent Member

  • Glen Barnes, Treasurer. (Second Term, 2018/2019)

  • Matariki Williams

  • Matthew Tonks (Term 2018/2019)

  • Tim Hart (Term 2018/2019)

The following board member is standing for re-­election. Please see her profiles here:

  • Joanna Szczepanski

The following board members are standing down. We thank them for their expertise and participation on the Board:

  • Chris Cormack

  • Rowan Carroll

Election Process

Institution members may nominate any Individual Member, regardless of whether they work within the Institution Member’s organisation. Board members whose terms expire this year may also be re-­nominated.

Please complete the online Nomination Form and include a candidate profile (max 150 words), which will be circulated to Individual Members prior to election.

Nominations must be submitted via the Nomination Form by Friday 9th November 11.59pm.

Candidate and election information will be sent to Individual Members on Monday 12th November, with voting open until Friday 16th November 11:59pm.

Newly elected Board members will officially take up their positions at the AGM on Wednesday 21 November 2018.

If you have any questions about the NDF Board nomination and election process please contact